Pécs is a university-town, a cultural and diocesan centre.The largest town of Trans-Danubia. There’s a lot to discover: mediterranean spirits, hisctoric monuments, UNESCO World Heritage sites, Turkish mosques and the Cathedral… The name of the town origins from the slavonic ’five’ as the number five appears in the Latin (Quinquee Ecclesiae) and German (Fünfkirchen) names too. Pécs owns the largest wall-surrounded mediaval structure town-area.
The Castle of Siklós is one of the most preserved military establishment and one of the most significant renaissance Hungarian
buildings. An important sight of Hungary’s history. The first walls of its fortress were built in the 13th century around 1260. The first written
memory dates back to 1294 and can be found in the archives of the chapter house in Pécs. A modern 21st century visitory centre awaits you to show
the lives of the Garai, Perényi, Batthyány and Benyovszky families.
MOSQUE of Malkoch Bey
The Mosque of Malkoch Bey probably built in the 16th century, during the Ottoman occupation is the most beautifully preserved memory of that time. The reconstruction brought the building the Europa Nostra prize in 1993. Can be viewed during opening hours.
Serbian Orthodox Church
The Serbian Orthodox Church was built in 1738 by the Serbs settling here in the 15th century and from the donations of the congregation. The church was burnt and it was rebuilt in its present form in 1783. Its iconostasis and peraphernalia may have been made around 1800.
Pilgrimage? Spiritual reformation? A Hungarian El Camino? Máriagyűd has been a famous Catholic place of pilgrimage in South Transdanubia. A few kilometers from Harkány, at the foot of Tenkes hill. The history of Máriagyűd goes back to the 12th century. The first church was built by King Géza II in 1147, but its heyday was in the 18th century when it became the Baranya county centre of the cult of the Virgin Mary revival at the time of the counter-reformation. The twin-spired pilgrimage church of Máriagyűd and the cloister were home to Franciscan monks offering mental care for those in need. The statue of Mary in the church is from 1712. A church festival is held in Máriagyűd on every St. Mary’s Day and on the more significant Catholic holidays, a total of 25-27 festivals a year. Máriagyűd was officially recognised as a place of pilgrimage by Pope Pius VII. in 1805. In 2008 the pilgrimage church was granted the rank of Basilica Minor by Pope Benedict XVI.
Thankful to the favourable micro-climate, the soil-capabilities and the knowlegde left from generations to generations the best quality and richest variety of red wines of the Villány Wine Region are produced here, but excellent rosé, siller and white wines were also born in the region. The village is the acropolis of significant and worldclass wineries. It lies on the edge of the mediterraneum and Templom-hill’s foot, near the bank of Karasica stream. The Hungarian crocus – strictly protected from 1933 – is the unique symbol of the wines with origin protection from Villány. It is a symbol of mediterranean effect and wines of Villány. It blossoms near to the eastern side of Nagyharsány village in winter or early spring.
Copyright © MENTA APARTMAN 2015-2021
Design: MENTA TEAM